February 24, 2016: Access Copyright Foundation awards $100,000 in Event Grants to Canadian cultural organizations

Toronto; February 24, 2016 – The Access Copyright Foundation (ACF) is pleased to announce that 16 Canadian cultural organizations have been awarded Event Grants in the Foundation’s latest round of grant funding.

The following organizations have been approved for an event grant:

  • Canadian Artists’ Representation / Le Front des artistes canadiens
  • Canzine Arts Festival
  • Creative Nonfiction Collective Society
  • Kingston Writers Fest
  • Literary Review of Canada Charitable Organization
  • OCW Arts & Publishing Foundation
  • Ontario Library Association
  • Pat the Dog Playwright Centre
  • Playwrights Atlantic Resource Centre
  • Shuswap Association of Writers
  • Sunshine Coast Festival of the Written Arts
  • The Shoe Project
  • The Vicious Circle
  • The Word on the Street Saskatoon
  • The Writers’ Union of Canada
  • Winnipeg International Writers Festival 

“The range of events funded by the ACF bring Canadian culture directly to where Canadians live, work and play, and invite everyone to become enriched by our country’s literary and visual artists,” said ACF chairperson Katherine Lawrence. “We deeply appreciate the Saskatchewan Arts Board’s continued stewardship of this important program.”

The demand for an ACF Event Grants was high for this latest round of funding. Thirty submissions were received, and ultimately, 53% were approved for funding on the basis of peer adjudication.

The ACF Event Grants program provides funding to organizations and artists’ groups to showcase publishable works to the public or to host professional development events for writers, visual artists, publishers and related arts professionals. Events must celebrate and present Canadian content in a public context, or provide opportunities for learning, career advancement or creative discourse in publishing, writing or visual arts.

The ACF Grants program and juries are administered by the Saskatchewan Arts Board. The 2015 event grant recipients were selected by a jury composed of James Davies (program director; the Writers’ Trust of Canada), Mary Beth Leatherdale (writer) and Sarah Simison (writer).

The Access Copyright Foundation promotes and supports Canadian culture by providing grants to assist with the development and distribution of publishable Canadian works.

To learn more about the Access Copyright Foundation Grants Program and the Saskatchewan Arts Board, please visit: www.artsboard.sk.ca/grants/grant-programs/2131-access-copyright-foundation-grants.

For media inquiries:
Katherine Lawrence,

For information on the Access Copyright Grants Programs:
Saskatchewan Arts Board
Joanne Gerber,
Program Consultant – Literary and Multidisciplinary Arts; (306)964‐1163;