May 13, 2015 - Access Copyright Foundation Awards $100,000 to cultural sector in Research Grants & renames grant in honour of a champion of the arts.

Access Copyright Foundation Awards $100,000 to cultural sector in Research Grants & renames grant in honour of a champion of the arts

Toronto – May 13, 2015 – The Access Copyright Foundation is pleased to award 29 writers, visual artists and other professionals in Canada’s cultural community with a research grant from the Foundation.

The Foundation distributed $100,000 in grants on the basis of peer adjudication for research projects designed to facilitate the creation of a publishable work, an innovative program, strategic initiative, study paper or report.

“A research grant from the Access Copyright Foundation can be an invaluable resource to Canadians wishing to contribute something new to Canada’s cultural landscape,” said Katherine Lawrence, chairperson of the ACF. “I’m proud that the foundation can play an active role in supporting and encouraging these passionate and dedicated individuals.”

Following the awarding of new research grants, the Foundation and its founding organization, Access Copyright, announced that the grant will be renamed in honour of Marian Hebb, an outstanding copyright lawyer and champion of Canadian culture. It will now be known as the Marian Hebb Research Grant.

“Marian has been an unceasing champion of Canadian culture and the contribution it makes to our society,” said Roanie Levy, Access Copyright’s executive director. “I can think of no more fitting tribute to Marian’s dedication and guidance.”

Over the past half‐century, Marian Hebb has left her mark on CanLit and copyright: through her time in publishing, her work as a copyright lawyer, her dedication to representing and protecting the interests of countless Canadian writers, visual artists and publishers, her help in the founding of Access Copyright, and service as legal counsel to Access Copyright’s Board and to national creator organizations such as the Writers’ Union of Canada.

The ACF Grants Program and juries are administered by the Saskatchewan Arts Board. The 2015 research grant recipients were selected by a jury composed of jurors Robert Ballantyne (publisher), Elizabeth Philips (writer), and Duncan Thornton (writer).

The Access Copyright Foundation promotes and supports Canadian culture by providing grants to assist with the development and distribution of publishable Canadian works.

To learn more about the Access Copyright Foundation Grants Program and the Saskatchewan Arts Board, please visit:‐programs/2131‐access‐copyright‐foundation‐grants.

For media inquiries:
ACF, Katherine Lawrence, Chairperson

For information on the Access Copyright Grants Programs:
Saskatchewan Arts Board
Joanne Gerber, Program Consultant – Literary and
Multidisciplinary Arts; (306)964‐1163;