June 15, 2017: Over 25 Canadian cultural professionals receive research grant funding from the Access Copyright Foundation.

June 15, 2017: The Access Copyright Foundation (ACF) has awarded $100,000 in research grants to 28 members of Canada’s creative community.

Research Grants were awarded to the following:

  • Edward Barlett
  • Courtney Bates-Hardy
  • Ronna Bloom
  • Erna Buffie
  • Patti Edgar
  • Caterina Edwards Lo Verso
  • Amy Jo Ehman
  • Elisabeth Gontard
  • Joel Katelnikoff
  • Katherine Koller
  • Katherine Laidlaw
  • Sylvia Legris
  • Stella Leventoyannis Harvey
  • James MacKinnon
  • Donald MacLean
  • Emilia Nielsen
  • Heather M. O’Connor
  • Deborah Ostrovsky
  • Karen Pinchin
  • Playwrights Guild of Canada
  • Anuradha Rao
  • Sharon Jean Riley
  • Richard Rudnicki
  • Karen Solie
  • Moez Surani
  • Erin Thomas
  • Shoshanna Wingate
  • Jacqueline Lee Wong
  • Writers Guild of Canada

“The ability to pursue and conduct research is vitally important for Canadian creators and other arts professionals as they turn ideas and manuscripts into tangible products to share with Canadians and others around the world,” said ACF chairperson Katherine Lawrence.

The ACF Marian Hebb Research Grants program provides grants on the basis of peer adjudication for research projects designed to facilitate the creation of a publishable work, an innovative program, strategic initiative, study paper or report.

The grants program was named in the honour of Marian Hebb in April 2015 to celebrate her contributions as an outstanding copyright lawyer and champion of Canadian culture.

The Foundation promotes and supports Canadian culture by providing grants (Events, Professional Development, and the Marian Hebb Research Grant) to assist with the development and distribution of publishable Canadian works.

To learn more about Access Copyright Foundation and the Saskatchewan Arts Board, please visit:

For media inquiries:
ACF, Katherine Lawrence, Chairperson

For information on the Access Copyright Grants Programs:
Saskatchewan Arts Board
Joanne Gerber, Program Consultant, Independent Artists,
Literary, Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts and Access
Copyright Foundation
(306) 964‐1163